Reviews

Add A Review

Rated 5/5 based on 55 customer reviews
"Groschan & Associates have been a great help to me various times the past 5 years in dealing with a recurring back problem (osteoarthritis), and most recently with a glenoid shoulder fracture due to a fall. Treatment has been by Jim Groschan and Cindy Hoerl, both of whom are very knowledgeable, personable, and provided excellent one-on-one care to get me back to 100%. Previously, I had been to other physical therapists which treated me in a "sweat shop" type of manner, passing me from one person to another, and one exercise machine to another. Jim and Cindy both took a personal interest in treating me, providing sound advice on stretching and exercises to do that were beneficial in rehabilitating me in a safe but expedient manner. They are the best and are my go to physical therapists! "
Jun 13, 2019
"It was unfortunate I experienced multiple orthopedic surgeries in 5 years. It was a blessing I found your PT practice early in my journey. My initial exposure to therapy and recovery techniques was materially slowed by utilizing the "big machine" approach of the large hospitals. The boilerplate "one size fits all" approach they typically employ was clearly not improving my situation. Once I experienced the personalized, focused and attention to detail philosophy of Groschan and Associates my recovery succeeded more quickly and with greater knowledge than I could have hoped for. Groschan and Associates is out of network so there has been more out of pocket expense. But, the value of experience and hands on time far outweighs the cost. Groschan & Associates has a very deep bench of talented therapists, superb and flexible customer service, great location and easy parking. I strongly recommend your practice to every patient looking for knowledge and relief." "
Jun 12, 2019
"Thank you all so much for making me feel welcome every time I came in for my therapy sessions. I am so grateful for your kindness as it helped me make my visits to your office even more pleasant while your efficiency with scheduling and addressing any questions made my visits free of stress. I was so lucky to have found such a caring and devoted team to help me during my healing process. All my Best, Vera K"
May 25, 2019
" I came to Groschan and Associates in 2017 because of pain in my right knee. I was having trouble walking and going up steps and was unable to work in my garden. I also was planning an overseas trip in 2 months. I had seen the doctor who did an MRI which showed I have arthritis in my knee. He said that I may need to have surgery but he would like me to try PT first. I began PT with Jim Groschan and it made a significant difference. He showed me how to use my body properly to put less stress on my knee. He taught me exercises to improve my strength and showed me how to sit, stand and walk properly. He did this in a way that put me in control of how I feel. I was able to go on my trip without limitations and I was able to go back to my garden. I have had a recent flare up and but I am back on the mend with a few treatments and a refresher on my exercises. I know that I may need surgery in the future but my work at Groschan and Associates has helped me preserve my knee and live my life actively. E H "
Apr 26, 2019
"Cindy was wonderful and I was very lucky to have her help me with my knee replacement. She has had great past experience to call on and she very encouraging while also making you do what is necessary. I will be recommending her to all my friends who are in need of PT. Cindy is the best that you could have. Barbara Antonides"
Apr 11, 2019
"My recovery from total shoulder replacement surgery has been rapid and successful, in no small part due to the excellent treatment I received from Melissa Blank, PT at Groschan and Associates. Melissa not only treated my shoulder, but also took time to understand me as a person. Together we pursued the common goals of reducing pain, gaining mobility, and returning to everyday life including golf. Melissa is very knowledgeable, has a great manner, and cares about her patients. I could not have chosen a better physical therapist. My experience at Groschan was also enhanced by the excellent office staff, and the timeliness of the overall operation. I would definitely recommend Melissa and Groschan Associates to anyone in need of physical therapy."
Apr 10, 2019
"I had a pinched nerve in my neck which caused pain in my left shoulder and a constant tingling down my entire left arm and hand. My Doctor recommended Groschan and Associates and I am glad he did. I was under the care of Dr. Sarah Blanchard . She was fantastic. I felt immediate results, and after about 7 weeks of therapy, I am now pain free. I thank Sarah for getting me through this with her expert guidance . Also, I thank her for making the sessions go by easily with enjoyable conversation. The young ladies at the front desk were wonderful as well. I highly recommend Groschan and Associates."
Apr 10, 2019
"Great service, great atmosphere, always efficient with our time together!"
Apr 10, 2019
"Jim Groschan is a highly professional, knowledgeable, and caring therapist. He provides a personalized approach to treatment and works with each patient during their entire session.The staff is courteous and very responsive to my needs. Appointments are easy to make, and I always feel better when I finish a visit. I would highly recommend his practice to my family and friends."
Apr 05, 2019
"I'm 67 years old. Forty-four years ago, I went skiing with rental skis and when I fell on an icy hill, my right ski failed to come off. I suffered a compound fracture with my tibia and fibula both breaking just above my ankle. After 2 surgeries, I was in a cast for 6 months and on crutches for 9 months. The doctor told me I would never run again and always walk with a limp. I decided to go to a foot specialist and see if I could do anything to retain motion and flexibility. He strongly suggested I go to Groschan & Associates to have therapy done. He highly recommended therapist Melissa Blank, who spent two months working on my foot, helping me learn new exercises to increase flexibility. She was incredibly patient and encouraging, explaining how the exercises would bring back abilities I was afraid I had lost. After waiting 44 years, I thought it was too late. But Melissa was able to wake up the muscles and exercise them, allowing my leg muscles to respond in a positive fashion.. I feel incredibly lucky that I was able to have someone so devoted, knowledgeable, and determined work on my ankle. Thanks to Melissa's skill, I almost feel like I have a whole new leg. She is an incredible therapist, I am lucky that she was able to bring back abilities I feared I had lost. "
Apr 04, 2019
"Lately, I had begun experiencing difficulty while walking. I would start out fine but the further I walked the more bent over I would become and my back would start hurting. Because of my age (88) I didn't think anything could be done. My primary care doctor recommended I make an appointment with Groschan & Associates. My therapist, Melissa Blank, has been terrific. The exercises she has given me have done wonders. I am able to walk much further than I could before and stand so much straighter. Even others have noticed. I would like to thank Melissa for her kindness and patience and for all the help she has given me. "
Jan 02, 2019
"I first came to JIm many years ago after being recommended to him by Dr. Segalman my surgeon. He very highly recommended Jim. After rotator cuff surgery I was told by all that if things worked well I would get back about 85% of my arm usage. Thanks to Jim I am at 100%. His hard work with me and encouragement made the difference. A year ago I was diagnosed with another rotator cuff needing surgery. I ask Dr. Segalman, "how about therapy ?". He said why not try. If can't hurt. The result - After working with JIm again, I don't even know that I have a rotator cuff problem. No pain what so ever. Of course I don't do "radical" movements. However, I am 100% fine. Another "Jim job greatly done".Now recently I developed pains in another shoulder and went to Jim as usual. Results - pain is gone.I fell on my left knee and was in severe pain until I went to see my friend Jim. Here I am now back to myself.To sum it all up. Jim is the greatest. If you have a problem he is the man to see. He does things other therapists can't come close to. Above all, he is a wonderful person. Very professional, caring, encouraging, kind, and patient. We have become friends over the years and I always look forward to the sessions as I really enjoy seeing "my friend" Jim. A great "professional" and a wonderful person in general. By the way his daughter Sara who subs for him with me when his schedule doesn't work out is a true credit to her father. Very nice, caring, and above all really "knows her stuff". To sum it all up you can't go wrong with Groschan & Assoc. You will lose out if you have needs and don't use them. They are "the best". Best of all, wonderful high class human beings. I can't recommend them high enough. Go see them. You will be glad you did. Yitz"
Oct 25, 2018
"I had back surgery in February 2018, my recovery was slow, but when I came to Groschan and Associated i was welcomed and made to feel like I had been a long time patient. Melissa Blank was my physical therapist, what a wonderful person and an outstanding therapist. She was understanding, patient and extremely professional. She gave exercises that were easy and effective. Ultimately my back and hip problems were solved and today I feeling sooooo much better I did a few months ago. I would highly recommend Groschan & Associates to my friends, they are a terrific organization. I want to especially commend Melissa Blank for getting me back on track, now I can play golf again, walk our dog without pain and do daily activities without apprehension. Thank you Melissa and Groschan!!!!!!! "
Oct 19, 2018
"I have been a competitive golfer my entire adult life but over the past 14 months, I had been very limited by pain. After working with Jim Groschan, I really improved. He taught me how to control my posture with golf. The focus on exercise and posture principles made a huge difference and gave me much more control over my pain. So I entered The Baltimore Senior Match Play Championship and I won! This is a USGA sanctioned tournament. It's actually my first real tournament since my injury. It feels pretty good considering I could not swing a club at all last year. "
Oct 17, 2018
"My wife and I have both been to Groschan and Associates in the past several years and have been very pleased with the results. I have had bursitis in my left shoulder on two occasions - very painful to sleep at night in particular. Jim worked with me for six weeks or so and completely resolved the problem - I can sleep again. His in office treatment plan was excellent and he provided me with good in-home exercises to strengthen my shoulder. My wife had hip bursitis and saw Cindy for a number weeks with the problem being completely resolved. Cindy and Jim not only are excellent therapists but also have extremely pleasant and friendly personalities that make the process really easy."
Oct 17, 2018
"I have been going to Jim Groschan for over 2 years and he has changed my life. The problems that I had he solved for me. He gave and taught me new ways to alleviate my pain by very simple exercises and very simple tools. I have learned some many different way to improve my issue. I have also recommended Jim and his other physical therapists to friends with issues to go to his office. I truly am one of the lucky ones that was recommended to come here. I no longer need his services but if any problem returns I will certainly come back for help."
Oct 17, 2018
"My wife and I have both been to Groshan and Associates in the past several years and have been very pleased with the results. I have had bursitis in my left shoulder on two occasions - very painful to sleep at night in particular. Jim worked with me for six weeks or so and completely resolved the problem - I can sleep again. His in office treatment plan was excellent and he provided me with good in-home exercises to strengthen my shoulder. My wife had hip bursitis and saw Cindy for a number weeks with the problem being completely resolved. Cindy and Jim not only are excellent therapists but also have extremely pleasant and friendly personalities that make the process really easy."
Oct 16, 2018
"After Rotator Cuff Surgery I was referred to Groschan & Associated where I met Melissa. Both my surgeon and PT told me full recovery would take about 8 months. With the help of Melissa I cut that time period in half. In just 4 months I am back playing tennis as good as ever (maybe even better). The secret to success is doing exactly what you are instructed, not more, not less. Ron M"
Aug 27, 2018
"When I had a compression fracture in my back, my doctor recommended Groschan & Associates. I was assigned to Emily. I did what she told me to do and I got a LOT better. A whole lot better. I'm 75 so I'm not sure what can be reasonably expected, but I'm extremely grateful for Emily's conscientious, sympathetic encouragement. She gave me a lot to think about in terms of recovery. I'm very, very pleased about the time I spent with her. "
Aug 08, 2018
"I have experienced 3 separate injuries over the last few years, each time I visit Groschan and Associates the staff are friendly and welcoming. This organization is run very well. I never wait for my appointment and the physical therapist is always right on time. Each time Jim Groschan has worked with me, he has been able to quickly diagnose the area of my pain. Jim has an amazing ability to teach his patients how to improve posture, exercise properly, and demonstrate strengthening exercises which each time resolve the pain. Plus, Jim has a great personality and makes it all seem fun!! "
Aug 02, 2018
"Over the years, I have been a patient of Jim Groschan for various orthopedic problems. About ten years ago, I had a frozen shoulder, which was extremely painful. After working with Jim and his associates, the pain went away and I was able to regain full motion of my arm. Four years ago, I broke my shoulder and was unable to move my arm after being in a sling for a month. Once again, I regained full motion of my arm after working with Jim. I know several people who have broken their shoulders and not one of them has the range of motion that I have. Most recently, I sprained my ankle. Again, I went to Jim and he was able to eliminate the pain. Not only is Jim an excellent practitioner, he is also caring, friendly, and punctual. Most importantly, he patiently teaches his patients what they need to do to correct the problem. He leads by example. As a result, his staff treats the patients in the same courteous and caring manner that Jim models. I have and will continue to highly recommend Jim and his practice to my friends and family. Ann S. "
Jul 16, 2018
"In the last 20 years I have had the benefits of working with Jim and his team with recovery from mutiple spine surguries. Most recently I needed theraphy and guidance to rehab some knee problems. My experience was again terrific! Although I have been a patient at several other respected PT firms in Maryland and Florida I can state without reservation that the Groschan team is absolutely the top of the list."
May 27, 2018
"My primary care doctor sent me to Jim when I had a disk problem, that had me in a lot of pain and very worried about what would be needed to resolve the issue. Dr. Gordon said Jim was absolutely "the best" and I believe her. His assessment of my issue was very thorough, and I was impressed with his vast knowledge and attention to detail. Jim cured the issue and educated me about what had caused it, and what I could do to help prevent another incident. I am back to working out as often as I can and completely pain free. It is also comforting to know that if anything like that ever happens again, I know exactly where to go!"
Apr 16, 2018
"Jim Groschan is an excellent physical therapist and a truly caring, genuine practitioner. I came in with a right shoulder problem and after following through with his directives and my appointments I was able to regain the function of my right shoulder. I am very grateful and would highly recommend his practice to my family and friends. Thanks again for your wonderful care."
Feb 04, 2018
"Groschan & Associates has caring, professional staff. And as a patient there, you stay with the same Physical Therapist during all of your sessions- no switching to another staff person. I recommend asking for Cindy. She is great!"
Oct 11, 2017
"I feel very lucky to have had Jim Groschan as my physical therapist for my various injuries and ailments for more than 30 years. I always know I will feel better when I leave his office than when I arrived and that he will manage to get the problem under control. And so this is why I continue with Jim --- despite the fact that my insurance does not cover his services."
Sep 27, 2017
"My recovery from a total hip replacement has been stellar, due in large part to working with the therapists at Groschan PT. The "homework" has triggered muscular connections that made progress swift. I am very grateful to Jim for his clear, simple instruction."
Jun 29, 2017
"Jim Groschan's personal attention to his clients is fantastic. He is knowledgeable and gets to the root cause of the issue to help you prevent future injury."
Jun 12, 2017
"I was lucky when I broke my clavicle. I was lucky because my wife had been to see Jim Groschan for issues with her knee. When the orthopedist prescribed physical therapy, my wife pointed me in the right direction. I was concerned about restoring a range of motion but, importantly, I didn't want my golf game to suffer too much. Jim fully understood both issues and addressed them in a thorough and professional manner. It is now 4 months since the injury. I'm happy to say that that the range of motion in my shoulder is almost fully restored and I can play golf without pain. if anything, I've picked up a couple of yards with my driver."
May 04, 2017
"I was fortunate, my wife had been to Jim because of a hip replacement and said I had to see him. I saw Jim both prior to and following bilateral knee replacement at age 70. Jim’s more than my PT guy, he is my advocate and coach. We worked on exercises that strengthen my knees prior to the surgery so that I would be in better condition for PT following the surgery, about 5 weeks of prep. Following surgery, we focused on doing things right/correctly/proper form; relearning how to walk properly, doing steps up and down correctly, as well as getting up from a sitting position, many new routines were provided for at home practice, as well as, continuing my strength training. I am told that I may be one of the exceptions as I was walking without a cane within 2 weeks of surgery; I am able to go up and down steps confidently; riding a stationary bike for 20 minutes or so at a time, as well as, walking 3 miles daily, weather permitting, as it is winter time. I am almost 7 weeks out of surgery and continuing to improve daily; not leaps and bounds, but small, noticeable, incremental improvement. I highly recommend Jim Groschan and Associates; everyone there are the best!"
Jan 04, 2017
"Groschan & Associates are very professional.You see it when you walk into their office. Their approach to fixing your problem is thorough. Jim Goschan's approach to work on your posture even when you don't realize that could be part of your problem is most effective. When you need to schedule with another associate you do not miss a beat. I have been away for two months but following the stretches, I was given with good results."
Nov 14, 2016
"I have been treated (and taught to do exercises) for two major joint problems, both of which are now completely resolved. In fact, I was amazed the other day to realize that I no longer remember which knee has the partially torn meniscus. Groschan physical therapists are genuinely concerned about patient outcomes and very engaged. Plus, they are very, very precise about how exercises and stretches are done, leading to better results. And yes, as others have said, the office staff could not be more helpful or smart about the way they handle appointments, insurance, etc. I have sent several friends to Groschan & Assoc., and they have all thanked me for it."
Sep 01, 2016
"My therapist, Melissa Blank, is great! She is extremely capable and experienced. As a result of her therapy, and the important exercises she trained me to perform, I am a new man. The pain is gone, the stiffness has disappeared, and I can stand erect and walk with ease."
May 31, 2016
"I have been a patient of Dr. Groschan for many years. His professionalism and expertise in the field is something that I admire and as a result, I will not go anywhere else. His staff is also very friendly and extremely helpful. I also love the fact that every patient is treated in their own private room. Whenever I have an issue and cannot play golf, I see Dr. Groschan and in 3-4 visits, I feel much better and I'm back to the golf course. I would strongly recommend Dr. Groschan. He is an excellent physical therapist and a very empathetic individual."
Apr 30, 2016
"It's been a while since I was a patient, but it was always a pleasant environment, I enjoyed using your services. Thank you."
Apr 24, 2016
"Jim and his team never fail to improve my physical capacity, whether it's knee, shoulder, back or Achilles related. Unfortunately, I have had a fair number of injuries over the years and it is comforting to know I have a team I can depend on when I need them. I get a full session of hands-on treatment from a PT as opposed to a few minutes with a PT or PTA and then supervised exercises."
Apr 10, 2016
"Through many years I have worked with Groschan and associates for various issues. They have each time been understanding, patient, and helpful with each problem, and helped me to a great outcome. Jim, originally was my primary PT in my early visits. But, when our schedules didn't allow our working together, each and every PT that I had thought the years have always been extremely qualified and helpful me to recovery, and might I add I have been a patient of Groschan for 15 years at least for varying chronic issues. And they always get me thru to feeling well. What for me has stood out also is their attention to producing a clean, orderly, friendly environment. Recommend my clients, friends, and gladly, a lot of them already have availed themselves of their services with the same happy outcome."
Mar 20, 2016
"I have been to 3 different physical therapy places for various back problems over the years. Groschan & Associates was by far the best. From the friendly receptionist, the ease of making an appointment to the wonderful physical therapist, Cindy Hoerl, my experience was a positive one. Cindy took the time to listen to my problem and tailored a program to fit my health needs as well as my personal schedule. They give you the one on one time you need, that many places skip because of insurance requirements. They were wonderful, highly recommend them!"
Mar 18, 2016
"What a wonderful group of professionals!!! I would not be doing as well as I am without their therapies. I have recommended them to several friends and they too had an extraordinary experience. They showed patience and made me feel that I could come back...and I did! Thanks to all!"
Mar 16, 2016
"Great caring, knowledgeable people. always on time."
Mar 16, 2016
"I've been to Groshan and Associates for various issues and found them to be very professional and competent. I see Cindy at present and she is beyond fabulous...would recommend her to everyone....as well as Melissa who I have used in the past. Groschan and Associates is the place to go for physical therapy!!!!"
Mar 16, 2016
"GREAT ! Performed miracles...when I didn't think anyone could! Thanks to all!!!"
Mar 16, 2016
"Jim is fantastic!He is able to assess the cause of your pain and develop treatment to address it.He gives you exercises to do at home to help keep the condition from returning."
Mar 15, 2016
"Twenty-five years ago I fell dancing and broke my hip. I was told by a physical therapist friend "you must go to the very best", and I did. I went to Jim Groschan and I walked again with no limp. Jim and his staff are more than outstanding. Each and every day you are greeted with a warm smile and a great understanding of your problem. Over the years I have had the need for additional therapy for other matters. Each time Jim's expertise has restored me back to strength. I highly recommend Jim Groschan and his Associates as a top quality physical therapy team. The absolute best."
Mar 15, 2016
"Groschan & Associates actually deserves 10 stars, not 5! I could not possibly recommend it more strongly. Over the last two years, I've had a number of injuries and conditions necessitating PT. Several good friends told me about Groschan. It is one of a kind. Every therapist there is completely competent, personable, encouraging, and top-notch. Unlike so many other PT centers, Groschan & Associates therapists give one-on-one treatment the entire time, meaning no wasted time waiting for someone to come to you. I've been treated for low spine issues, damaged hamstring, rotator cuff injury, and now a degenerating knee. I have complete confidence in the care I am receiving each week."
Mar 14, 2016
"Everything about participating in Groshan & Associates Physical Therapy was a positive experience. When I first started I was in a lot of pain and Jim gave me lots of ways to ease that pain on day one. After that, the sessions were filled with comforting treatments and helpful exercises, most of which I still do. Most important was what Jim taught me about my body, the importance of my posture, and how I can make decisions to keep myself physically strong and healthy. It was easy to make appointments, and I was taken on time. My shoulder is better than new, and I have this group to thank for that. I recommended a lot of my friends who have had similar experiences. I know where I will go next time I need the best physical therapy!"
Mar 13, 2016
"Groschan & Associates was recommended to me by a former patient. Unlike other facilities I have seen which look like health clubs, Groschan has individual treatment rooms. The therapist that treated me was terrific and, in addition to the therapy, she provided me with an amazing amount of information related to my situation. I am having hip replacement surgery later this month (03/2016) and will be going back to Groschan and Associates for my post-op therapy. In addition to my therapist, everyone who works there was pleasant to deal with."
Mar 13, 2016
"Emily has been responsive to every ache or pain I express. I look forward to each session and know that she will provide the exercises etc that I need that day. She explains the exercises well and seems to think of endless ways to treat my knee and my ankle! We have nice chats and she is more like a friend than a therapist while at the same time being VERY professional."
Mar 12, 2016
"Jim is a great guy and really helped my back pain. In addition, I referred my dad and Jim is working with him to improve his back and knee pain."
Mar 10, 2016
"You all are just the best! Starting with great location, easy parking, lovely & friendly staff (who are very patient with me) AND last but far from least is my spectacular PT EMILY - she makes all my sessions fun & different. Plus very professional . . . Just the best."
Mar 10, 2016
"I went to this practice for a neck injury. I was fortunate to see Michelle, who was amazing! Thanks for all of your thoughtful and expert care!"
Mar 10, 2016
"My husband and I both adore Melisa Blank. She is wonderful. She has us up and feeling great."
Mar 10, 2016
"Excellent and thorough as usual!!!"
Mar 03, 2016
"5 years ago I had an excellent experience rehabbing muscles after a hip replacement with Jim Groschan as my PT. Now I have an Rx for PT due to back muscle issues. When my spine doc recommended two sites for PT near my home, I passed on the suggestions. It is worth the 20-mile drive for me to learn from Jim Groschan about the structural reasons causing my muscle issues, to be listened to and treated as an intelligent patient, and to have practical exercises that are not just healing but strengthening my back muscles. The office staff is flexible and they cheerfully find appointment's that fit my schedule. When I finish I will not only be healed but will be educated to keep my muscles strong."
Jan 28, 2016
"Robert Dubansky I have just completed several weeks of therapy at Groschan and Associates. I was sure I was headed toward cervical disk surgery before they intervened. Instead of having surgery, I am headed to the golf course! I appreciate the professionalism and the competence of this well-run office. They are on time, don't waste a moment, and provide direction and support for therapy and exercise at home to complement their work in the office. Time there isn't wasted on completing insurance papers or waiting around for equipment or therapy. A special shout-out to Melissa who was as determined and dedicated as I was to my rehabilitation. She helped me get through the injury physically AND mentally and showed a great deal of personal concern.---Robert Dubansky"
Jan 22, 2016

Success Stories

"Thanks so much for your help in getting my leg back in running shape. Yesterday, I successfully completed the Frederick Half Marathon, made my time goal and had a great morning!"

– Sue

"GREAT ! Performed miracles...when I didn't think anyone could!

Thanks to all!!!"

- Judy

"I highly recommend Jim Groschan to anyone in need of Physical Therapy. He is a knowledgeable professional with a down to earth personality and approach. I am very grateful for what he has helped me accomplish.

- Mary

" If you can trust somebody with your spine, you can trust him pretty much with your life. "

- Patti

"Jim is not only an outstanding physical therapist but he recognizes that pain can be mentally challenging and addresses that as well. He is kind, thoughtful and always willing to listen. I am very grateful and would highly recommend him to anyone seeking physical therapy."

- Susan

"Jim and each therapist are highly motivated to see you reach a place in healing and strength of motion. "

- Diana

"Jim's more than my PT guy, he is my advocate and coach."

- Roger L

Read Our Reviews Add a Review