Reviews

Add A Review

Rated 5/5 based on 78 customer reviews
"A friend of mine had hip replacement surgery and took PT from Groschan and Associates. He spoke so highly of Jim Groschan and Melissa Blank, his therapists, that I decided to use the practice when my doctor recommended PT for my hip problems. From my first appointment, I was impressed with the professionalism of the front office staff to the therapists. I had the services of both Jim and Melissa at different times for my sessions. They evaluated my walking, sitting, etc. in order to provide appropriate and consistent treatment. I decided to get a second Orthopedic opinion on my hip. Jim encouraged me to do so and I mentioned who I would be seeing. Jim indicated he knew the doctor and reached out to the Orthopedic doctor to share his observations since they at times have worked closely to benefit their client/patient. In closing, I can’t thank the Groschan and Associates team enough for their treatment. Based on my condition, I have no doubt I will need their services in the future. JSGoldman"
Jul 31, 2022
From Google
"Cindy was my Physical Therapist and she was outstanding. One thing she listened to my complaints and acted on them. Instead of prescribing a bunch of stretching exercises she would use her machine and would stretch the affected muscles. In no time I was feeling better. Also kudos to the desk staff they were marvelous scheduling appointments for me. Overall a five star ⭐ experience."
Jun 28, 2022
From Google
"Cindy is awesome. Her upbeat personality aided me thru a difficult time. I developed acute brursitis s/p hip replacement. This was a set back & I was in excruciating pain and emotional on my first visit. She was kind professional,knowledgeable and it was obvious that she loved her job. Thank-you Cindy for helping me achieve such a high level of wellness. You rock! Kudos to the young lady at the desk as well. She too was gr8. Thank you both. VICTORIA MORRIS"
Jun 18, 2022
From Google
"The treatment I received from the moment I began until my "graduation day" for Vertigo was top notch. I was very impressed with the staff. The office hummed with professionalism. My therapist was Melissa Blank and I bonded with her immediately. The questions she asked help to ease my anxiety. The care and concern for me were written all over her face. We bonded immediately and I felt comfortable and safe throughout my therapy. Thank you Melissa and staff."
May 03, 2022
From Google
"I came to Groschan & Associates with a torn rotator cuff and could not raise my arm or even take my wallet out of my pocket without severe pain. Melissa Blank examined me, analyzed the CAT Scan report, and laid out a course of treatment.So as to not increase the inflammation and pain, she gradually introduced new exercises with ever increasing weight. If I could not tolerate an exercise, she substituted another so that I continued to make progress. Her gradual approach kept me motivated by allowing me to feel reduced pain and increased range of motion. Thanks to her, I have normal range of motion and can hold my 6 month old grandchild in my arms without pain."
May 02, 2022
From Google
"I had a hip replacement and got excellent therapy, advice and moral support from Melissa. She was always upbeat and encouraging. I had a setback and couldn't have made it without Melissa. I recommend Jim and all their wonderful therapists. "
May 02, 2022
"Unrelenting severe pain in my lower back and leg from an undefined athletic injury had completely immobilized me and drove me to Groschan and Associates (GA) for physical therapy and, hopefully, some relief. At GA, I found a staff that was highly knowledgeable, personable, experienced, patient, caring, and good at listening. GA not only administered excellent physical therapy to address a sacroiliac problem but also wisely encouraged me to pursue further diagnostic and treatment options from medical experts at a spine clinic. After facilitating an appointment for me with the spine clinic, GA modified my physical therapy routine to address spinal problems that had been detected by MRI and, later, to support the spine clinic’s pain mitigation treatments as well. At my last physical therapy appointment, I had progressed remarkably to 95% of full recovery. I walked away from GA fortified with a battery of stretching and strengthening exercises that would help me make a complete recovery and, also, play a safer game of golf. I could not have wished for or have received a better experience with physical therapy than the one I had at GA. Walt K."
Mar 14, 2022
From Google
"I cannot say enough positive things about Jim Groschan and his team. I have a complicated spine issue and Jim walked me through diagnosis, finding the best surgeon, and a difficult recovery. When I experienced unexpected nerve inflammation post surgery, Jim was on the spot, contacting surgeon to prescribe meds and guiding me through therapy to regain function and decrease pain. Jim tailored my treatment to my individual physical and emotional needs. I owe my recovery to Jim and highly recommend him and his associates."
Mar 05, 2022
From Google
"I really appreciate the care I received from Melissa Blank. I had severe pain and other symptoms of spinal stenosis. Her thorough assessment and treatment at the office and the exercises she showed me how to do at home made a big difference. The pain and other symptoms were fully resolved. Melissa also provided advice on steps to take to reduce the likelihood of aggravating the underlying condition. She has a true commitment to her patients and clearly enjoys being a physical therapist and helping her patients."
Jan 11, 2022
"Love love love Jim and associates! What a wonderful professional office! Front office is courteous, appointments are always on time, therapists are caring and listen to everything you have to say, and treatment is effective. You could not want for more. I highly recommend Groschan and Associates Physical Therapy."
Jan 06, 2022
From Google
"I had a severe back injury in October of 2021 that caused me not to be able to walk for 30 days. After seeing the spine surgeon, he recommended I see Jim Groschan and within a couple weeks I was back on my feet. I believe with their PT core strengthening methods I will be avoiding back surgery and back on the golf course very soon. I would highly recommend them to any of my friends and colleagues. I would personally like to thank Jim and his team for helping me through this difficult time."
Jan 04, 2022
From Google
"This is a fabulous physical therapy place. I have had the pleasure of using both Sarah and Emily. They are very knowledgeable and know everything about the bones of the body. I came in with severe elbow and hand problems at two different times. Sarah was able to work on these areas explaining what she was doing. My hand and elbow are now fine. Emily is working on my back and it is already feeling better. They are also very warm and friendly and fun to talk to! The time just flies by!"
Jul 08, 2021
From Google
"I went to Groschan and Associates with a RT. shoulder problem whch prevented me from even taking a container of milk from the refrigerator. After several therapy sessions with Sarah Blanchard, I 'graduated' today with a shoulder which works better than the one with no problems. Amazing what can be done by the right people. Will always be grateful! Tom P."
Jun 22, 2021
From Google
"AFTER HAVING HIP REPLACEMENT SURGERY ON JANUARY 25, 2021 ISAW DR.SARAH BLANCHARD 19TIMES OVER A 4 MONTH PERIOD. I WORKED HARD TO BE A MODEL PATIENT AND SHE WORKED ME HARD TO GET THE RESULTS WE BOTH WANTED FOR ME. BY THE TIME OF OUR LAST VISIT I WAS IN GREAT PHYSICAL SHAPE, ABLE TO GARDEN, EXERCISE, TAKE LONG WALKS AND FLY FISH ! SARAH IS A CARING ,SENSITIVE, FUN PHYSICAL THERAPIST WHO MADE EACH VISIT SOMETHING TO LOOK FORWARD TO. IF I EVER NEED ANOTHER HIP I'LL BE RIGHT BACK AT GROSCHAN AND ASSOC. PAMELA MEIER"
Jun 05, 2021
From Google
"Six stars for Melissa for knee therapy. Nuf sed."
May 15, 2021
From Google
"I had a very successful experience with the Groschan PT services for my back, shoulder and knee I highly recommend this group. Very professional services and the staff is easy to deal with They completely solved my lower back pain and shoulder pain which was preventing me from playing golf. Appointments are are always on time. Stuart"
Apr 09, 2021
From Google
"I feel so grateful that my physical therapist is Sarah Blanchard. I could not have been seen by a wiser professional. Sarah is patient, kind, responsible and a great listener. She has a positive, healing presence. Janice M."
Apr 08, 2021
From Google
"My Internal Medicine Physician whom I have great trust in gave me three referrals when I finally admitted to myself I had to have a left knee replacement. I am so relieved I chose Groschan & Assoc. I met Jim Groschan a couple months prior to my surgery so I could assess what I was "in for." At our initial appointment and all through my therapy Jim was gracious, patient and very focused. Believe me I asks a lot of questions! On 11/11/2020 I had outpatient surgery at St. Joe's. The next day my son drove me to PT and I began my physical therapy. I also had the pleasure of working with two other Groschan Physical Therapists intermittently. All the staff is very professional and patient-focused. The individual patient's unique needs are identified and I am very keen on that aspect of care being in my 40th year of nursing practice. I definitely give this PT practice 5 stars. "
Mar 01, 2021
"After 2 years of 24/7 shoulder pain from partial tendon tears, my PCP referred me to Groschan PT. My expectations were greatly exceeded! After about 10 sessions I went from 7 or 8 out of 10 discomfort to just 1 or 2 , sometimes zero, discomfort and continue to enjoy pain free days. Couldn't be happier with my outcome"
Feb 22, 2021
"I had use Groschan & Associates to rehab my knee replacement. I can not say enough about the personalized, professional care I received! They are great! "
Feb 03, 2021
"I am very pleased to write a review of my experience with Groschan & Associates. They were great! I had a knee replacement and went to Groschan & Associates to rehab my knee. It was a challenging process but with the support and guidance of Jim and his team I was able to regain strength and flexibility in my knee. They are very caring and knowledgeable and a pleasure to work with. I highly recommend Groschan & Associates for physical therapy and rehab needs."
Jan 11, 2021
"As a practicing dentist for over 10 years I have had a few back aches from time to time...Comes along with the territory. However, about two years ago I began experiencing lower back pain to the point where it became almost constant. After just living with and doing nothing about it, it was time to address it. I have known Jim for over 8 years. He is a warm, likable guy....Very easy to get long with. I was also fully aware of his excellent reputation. I was able to get in right away and had my consultation with Jim. It lasted a full hour in which I received his undivided attention. I remember it very well because In this day and age of medicine, this is (sadly) rare. My next visit was with Jim’s daughter Emily. Just like her father, she is warm, friendly and incredibly knowledgeable. Between those two visits, I had a diagnosis and a plan...More importantly, one I could fully understand (they took their time and made sure I did). From here we went to work: First twice a week and then down to once as things improved. All told, it was about two months of therapy and while difficult at times, especially in the beginning, I enjoyed the sessions and even looked forward to them. In addition to the incredible on-site treatment, Emily provided me with at home exercises - Introducing them one at a time as to not to overwhelm me (to the point where I might quit keeping up). Their importance paramount, she stressed. Because of this, I have become more accountable - Taking better care of myself and I even developed a routine at home to keep me in line. I have been completely pain free and truly now realize what it is like to really feel good. I would also like to mention that their office manager Sarah is fantastic as well. If you are having any physical ailments, you will not find a better care anywhere else. I would recommend Groschan PT and Associates without hesitation. Chris Stuzynski"
Jan 08, 2021
From Google
Dec 19, 2020
From Google
"I have been to Groschan & Associates several times over the past few years for injuries associated with playing golf and an automobile accident. I have always been seen in a timely, efficient, caring, professional and knowledgeable fashion. My injury has been thoroughly explained and the treatment plan well laid out. Questions have been readily answered in a direct and truthful manner! I would have no hesitation in recommending Jim and his daughters to anyone who inquires. "
Nov 23, 2020
"I spent the last seven weeks in twice-weekly visits with Melissa Blank for help in alleviating a balance problem. Melissa has a wonderful combination of professional knowledge, energy and empathy. I am confident that if I keep up the exercises she taught me, I'll be able to maintain the excellent progress I've made. I was particularly impressed, during my last visit, with the pains she took to encourage me to be in touch with her, if I ever had any questions or concerns."
Nov 22, 2020
From Google
"I wanted to let you know my progress 5 months out from partial knee replacement surgery. Trying to be a good consumer, I did a great deal of research prior to my surgery. Without exception, every piece of information I reviewed indicated that post-surgery Physical Therapy (PT) is the most important component to successful outcomes. The PT group associated with the surgical group was not going to be able to have me begin PT until 5-6 days post surgery! I expressed this concern to my surgeon who put me in touch with Jim at Groschan & Associates Physical Therapy. I feel extremely fortunate to have made that connection! Even though my therapy was self-pay (due to my medical plan), it was worth every penny. I have had previous PT experiences that were much less helpful than the PT I received with Groschan. In those previous situations, I would meet with the therapist for about 10 minutes and then they would take me off to a machine, flex bands, or some other device and after showing me what to do, let me just work on my own. With Jim and company, I was never ‘on my own’ working an exercise. Each new building block of exercises was built on previous sessions, completely explained, and I was observed every step of the way. Refinements were made where needed and the therapists made sure I was doing everything correctly. Initial sessions were 3 times per week and then gradually scaled back. I ‘graduated’ from PT 2 months after surgery and continue to work on the exercises I was given. My progress is excellent and just went on a hilly 5 mile hike yesterday with no problems. I’m convinced that while the surgery was important, the follow-up PT was really the key to getting my knee back in shape. Thanks to all the folks at Groschan & Associates! Bob Hood"
Nov 18, 2020
From Google
"I have had many P.T. sessions over the years for spine, buttock and hip pain. A new doctor referred me to Melissa and I could not believe the difference in care. She is with you the whole time in your own private room with out any interruptions. She explains your problem and develops a program to get you mobile without pain always asking if you have any questions. She is a real professional who is encouraging and kind. I highly recommend Melissa and the entire Groschan office personnel. "
Nov 05, 2020
"I had shoulder surgery at the end of 2019 and went to Groschan & Associates based on the recommendation of my orthopedic surgeon. It was a great recommendation. When you read through all the reviews you’ll see all of the positive comments about the private rooms, friendly and caring staff/environment, etc., (which are all very true), but there were several other things that stood out for me. Jim showed incredible dedication to his patients during my rehab. He could have easily closed shop when the pandemic hit and his business dropped significantly. Instead, he made sure that patients, like me, were able to continue on with their rehab. Also, when Jim was not available, the other physical therapists (Cindy, Emily and Sarah) stepped right in to make sure I did not miss a treatment. They were superb about setting expectations for my recovery and were spot on as to when I would hit certain milestones. I am very appreciative for all that they have done for me and highly recommend them to everyone I know (including my wife who unfortunately fell and broke her wrist and needed PT)."
Sep 29, 2020
"I started going to Groschan & Associates for a major flare up of back issues at the beginning of the Covid pandemic. Groschan was highly recommended by my neurosurgeon's office. Not to go into too much detail, but the combination of in-person PT with Emily plus exercises at home allowed me to get my life back! Emily is great and the entire office feels like family. I highly recommend Groschan & Associates for anyone needing physical therapy."
Sep 21, 2020
"I just finished two months of PT for my knee with Eileen Groschan. The treatments made all the difference in my ability to enjoy tennis and other activities again. I liked started the sessions with a Q/A about my progress and exercises. It made me feel like she was listening and could pinpoint any adjustments to the treatments. Friendly and every experienced. Thank you!"
Sep 13, 2020
From Google
"This treatment has kept me off the operating table. I have arthritis in my spine (who doesn't?) and a vulnerability from a previous surgery for a cyst on my spinal cord. When I arrived Melissa found me in constant pain from my back down to my great toe. Walking was tough and stairs were loathsome. I was not comfortable sitting, standing or lying down. She taught me about good posture and gave me exercises to strengthen the muscles that support that part of my back. She helped me figure out the things that maintained the pain and methods to prevent it. I bought gel seat pads and ice packs. I got rid of a piece of furniture that could not be amended so it wouldn't hurt. I even went so far as to replace my car (the car seat was not amenable to change) and discovered that if you knew what to look for, you could find a car seat that supports properly. Now, I am for the most part pain free. There are twinges now and then and there are times I overdo. But I am learning about my new capacities and I have the tools to help myself out of difficulties. Next to breathing, this has been the best thing I've done for myself. Melissa helped me see I did not have to accept the situation since I'm 'old." Keep your appointments; listen; learn and do the exercises. You will be better for it and grateful as well as I am."
Aug 27, 2020
"My sciatic pain started at the beginning of the COVID 19 pandemic and it was quite severe. I was not comfortable starting physical therapy in person because of the pandemic and was referred to Grocshen PT because they offered PT by telehealth. I was amazed at how much can be accomplished using this method especially with a therapist as highly skilled as Jim Groschen. Jim listened and observed very carefully, assessed the problem, taught me the exercises I needed to strengthen weak muscles, provided feedback and encouragement, and addressed a number of intervening related problems during the course of my treatment. He was very patient and knowledgeable and always focused on the details of function . I learned how to incorporate the principles of movement he taught me into my daily routine which was of great benefit. I am delighted to say that I am now very happily pain free. I would highly recommend this practice, and Jim Groschan as a therapist. Thank you, Jim. Anita L."
Jul 21, 2020
From Google
"Just a note of thanks for the great rehab over the past 12 weeks - I think it really made a difference - I walked 18 at Whistling Straits last weekend - what a joy to not walk on a bad knee - now I just need to rehab my game! All in all it's great - a special thanks to you and your daughter for the outstanding PT. Hit em straight!"
Jul 21, 2020
"I was having a lot of back pain and stiffness that was having a negative effect on my golf game and every day life. I went to Groschan & Associates and Dr. Cindi has worked on me for several weeks now. My back pain has completely subsided and my stiffness has been reduced and my flexibility has already greatly improved. Dr. Cindi is the perfect combination of professional expertise and personal caring for me as her patient! I could not possibly give her a higher rating as well as my entire experience at Groschan & Associates."
Jul 14, 2020
From Google
"My issue was a bad shoulder where pain went down arm to hand ---I felt this may require an operation -BUT the surgeon said that Physical therapy with Groscham and assoc. should fix me up--WELL it DID--in 11 issues at this office I have gotten back to my old self. The staff listen to my problems and gave me many workouts in the office and at home..I wanted to get better so I did my homework twice a day at home so I can now play golf once again----I know that I must continue my homework--which I will so issues will stay away! Thanks to all the staff in the office !!!!"
Jul 07, 2020
"I have been to Groschan Associates for too many maladies. Not surprising since I am now in the 4th quarter. It is always a pleasure to see the smiling faces of JIm and his friendly, expert and devoted staff. I heartily recommend the Groschan Group for anyone who needs caring help."
Mar 07, 2020
"Cindy is the best. Have been going for over a year. The fact that it is taking so long has nothing to do with her but, because I have too many birthdays, my problems are “greater than the norm” (whatever that is) and Arthur loves my joints and keeps on shifting his attack. Cindy knows just what to do as well as what my home regimen should be to continue making progress. I am going to be able to raise this arm voluntarily sooner rather than later, because there is increased muscle strengthening. Very friendly staff who are willing to help getting coats on and encouraging the clients"
Mar 05, 2020
From Google
"I was completely delighted with the speed and comfort with which I was cured of my agonizing neck crick-gone-berzerk. Melissa Blank was not only brilliant at her job but also extraordinarily good company. She was very clear in her explanations of what had occurred, what needed to be addressed (short and long term), and how the process should evolve. I am immensely grateful to her and all of you who made my "transformation" possible."
Mar 02, 2020
"Having had physical therapy several times in the past few years, I was surprised to find Groschan & Associates provides, what I consider, a unique and very successful approach to physical therapy. I had a total hip replacement in December. With Jim Groschan's guidance, I am walking well and adding to my list of "reacquired" activities weekly. Above the improvement in my physical well-being, I find I am happy and enjoying my life again. I highly recommend Groschan & Associates Physical Therapy."
Feb 23, 2020
From Google
"This is the best physical therapy practice I have ever been to. The entire staff is friendly, efficient, and care about the comfort and privacy of the patient. My therapist, Sarah, was always concerned for my pain level, while pushing me to achieve my goals. She is extremely knowledgeable and used every possible method at her disposal to help me recover. I would recommend this practice, and in particular Sarah, to anyone in need of PT."
Feb 22, 2020
"Sarah is a miracle worker. (Of course you have to do the work). She has given me a comprehensive set of varied exercises to improve my back & hip. I like the variety & the alternate regimen she has prescribed; so I don’t get overwhelmed or bored. I have also worked with Jim & Melissa & they offered fresh insights @ my therapy while always deferring to Sarah, as she is my regular therapist. Great office staff & location too. Barbaractorr"
Feb 20, 2020
From Google
"excellent, comprehensive PT not only improving local wound rehab but also enhancing gate and walking Jim is outstanding and wonderful person as well Makes the pain tolerable!"
Feb 19, 2020
From Google
"I was not aware that each session would be only 30 min . I ask my therapist and she explained the process which was different from other practices . I feel that this issue should have been discussed at the first meeting . Having said that my spine and back are feeling much better after only 3 sessions. I have been to other practices and have never had this much progress in 3 sessions. I have suffered and at times could not walk. I am very confident and look forward to a good recovery thanks to Groschan & Associates and my therapist Sarah"
Feb 17, 2020
From Google
"I have found Sarah Blanchard to be very knowledgeable in the field of Physical Therapy. For the past several years I have been plagued with a limp due to my stroke. Due to the exercises and her direction, I no longer have the limp! Thank you Sarah"
Feb 11, 2020
From Google
"I have just completed my therapy treatment with Melissa Blank. She was an excellent therapist. She was patient, informative in telling me the value of each exercise and explained it so that my 88 year old brain could understand. I appreciate that I had the opportunity to learn from her. Thank you"
Feb 06, 2020
"Had an amazing experience with Groschan and Associates. Dr. Sarah Blanchard is a top notch therapist who helped me regain full mobility after a shoulder injury. After 6 weeks of therapy with her my shoulder is back to full functionality and with continued guidance from her it is stronger than before. Truly an amazing doctor and practice."
Jan 31, 2020
From Google
"Read the reviews and see how glowing they are. After being treated for half a year by Sarah Blanchard, who has a doctorate in PT, I am not surprised. I have long had an excellent primary care physician, and when she recommended Groschan and Associates for my back problems I had every reason to believe she knew what she was doing. My high expectations were exceeded! This practice and its personnel are most impressive. Everyone, including the receptionists, is nice and friendly in a low-key manner. The ambience is relaxed and informal, but homey, unlike a sweaty gym. The therapists are all experts. I have benefited greatly from Sarah's expertise and insight into my aged back's aches and pains, which at times were severely disabling. She listens closely and compassionately. Then she draws on her encyclopedic knowledge of the body to address each problem. While stretching and messaging, she engages in friendly, unforced conversation that helps make each visit not only a boost to one's morale and mood, but a pleasant social interlude. Once, her sister Emily substituted for Sarah, and she was just as proficient and pleasant--and no wonder, they are identical twins. As for logistics, the location is easy and safe to get to, as it is just off both the beltway and the Jones Falls Expressway and has ample parking. I now tell all my friends, don't wait if you have physical problems--go to PT, and Groschan is the perfect choice. I am finishing up my PT this month and am in much improved condition, able now to move about easily with little discomfort. But I will continue my home stretches and exercises to prevent relapsing. I should have listened to friends and gone to PT sooner, but was resigned to enduring what I assumed--wrongly--was not a treatable condition at my advanced age. Happily, Sarah showed that it was treatable, and my quality of life has much improved accordingly."
Jan 29, 2020
"I had hip pain caused by back problems and Sarah was wonderful in treating me and educating me in strengthening my core and back muscles. Always pleasant and efficient!! A pleasure to work with!!!!"
Jan 25, 2020
From Google
"I have found Sarah Blanchard to be a consummate artist in the field of physical therapy. She is knowledgeable, compassionate and caring with an expertise and efficiency at identifying issues and remedying and remediating areas of concern. "
Jan 18, 2020
"Cindy has that marvelous combination of being knowledgeable, professional and personable. She exudes confidence and competence with warmth. I highly recommend Cindy for your PT needs. "
Jan 18, 2020
"I have been most satisfied with the care Sarah Blanchard has given me. I have now been for therapy for several different problems and after Sarah's treatments I have walked away feeling fine. She is a wonderful therapist and very knowledgeable about finding the reason for the discomfort. The secretaries are very polite and most helpful as well and I find the office is efficient and appears to be well run. I would highly recommend Groschan & Associates.."
Jan 18, 2020
From Google
"I have been a patient at Groshen and Associates for more than 10 years. Having undergone knee replacement surgery, I can testify to the tailored approach taken by Mr. Groshen and all of his colleagues to each patient. Jim and his team provide exceptional individualized care and I would strongly recommend them to anyone in need of physical therapy."
Jan 15, 2020
From Google
"In 2019 my wife and I turned to Groschan Associates for physical therapy. I had had a right hip replacement and my wife was experiencing significant muscle pain in her right shoulder (probably from taking care of me!). Our very professionally accomplished and personally caring therapist, Sarah, worked with each of us over a course of several weeks. She gave me the confidence I needed to use my new hip and to improve my gait in general. Her knowledge of the involved nerves, joints and muscles was impressive, and most helpful to me. My wife shared this same appreciation as Sarah’s therapeutic treatments went on. Both of us learned from Sarah the importance of good posture and it’s importance to healthy body structure. Sarah was firm in her therapy , but always gentle and caring. My wife and I consider her not only a good therapist but also a friend."
Jan 14, 2020
From Google
"Very good therapy and kind staff who are willing to go the extra mile for a patient."
Jan 11, 2020
From Google
"Had a great experience with Jim over a 30-45 day period. I would recommend him to anyone looking for a PT!"
Jan 03, 2020
From Google
"Dr. Groschan and his team were integral in helping my avoid surgery and making a full recovery from a debilitating back injury. They gave me the tools necessary to be able to continue to stay healthy after Therapy. I could not have done it without them. I would strongly recommend them for any Physical Therapy needs!"
Dec 30, 2019
From Google
"I’ve been helped by Groschan and Associates many times over the last 20 years. About a week prior to my scheduled and expensive â€Å"bucket list” golf trip, I hurt my hip and was in danger of not being able to play or travel. Jim properly diagnosed my issue, established and implemented a successful therapy which allowed me play and travel pain free. Saved me. Can’t thank them enough! Bob G"
Dec 05, 2019
"I had a full shoulder joint replacement in May. Jim explained the shoulder mechanics and showed me how posture will help total body recovery. By specific exercises, he is helping me to regain full strength and mobility of my shoulder so I can return to my normal activities and tennis, which is important to me. Jim is professional and knowledgeable about how the body works and how to make it work properly again. The staff is efficient, warm and friendly greeting me by name. Donald K. "
Nov 27, 2019
"I had a full shoulder joint replacement in May. Jim explained the shoulder mechanics and showed me how posture will help total body recovery. By specific exercises, he is helping me to regain full strength and mobility of my shoulder so I can return to my normal activities and tennis, which is important to me. Jim is professional and knowledgeable about how the body works and how to make it work properly again. The staff is efficient, warm and friendly greeting me by name. Donald K."
Nov 27, 2019
From Google
"Fully perfect !"
Nov 12, 2019
From Google
"My experience with Groschan and Associates was superb. Sarah was my P.T. and she was always on time, patient, kind, good listener and after my eight weeks I was well on my way to recovery from back issues. I would highly recommend Groschan to anyone needing P.T."
Nov 04, 2019
From Google
"I would highly recommend Groschan and Associates to anyone needing physical therapy after shoulder surgery. I began seeing Jim Groschan a couple of weeks after arthroscopic surgery on my left shoulder. At that time the range of motion in my left shoulder was extremely limited. Through ultrasound, massage and stretching, I slowly but surely regained motion. As much as the on site physical treatment was important, Jim‘s positive attitude and cheerful manner gave me hope, even when meaningful progress was not so obvious, that improvement would occur. With a combination of regular sessions at Groschan & Associates and the home stretching regimen recommended by Jim, I was able to regain almost all of my motion in my left shoulder that I had before I began having symptoms. I would say that the combination of surgery and therapy at Groschan & Associates has been highly successful. I can now sleep on my left side without pain, play golf and do all of the activities I could do before I began having shoulder pain. A true success story! "
Nov 01, 2019
"Their PT services have been excellent! Their approach to address some longstanding issues was effective. They provided very clear and helpful instructions for rehab exercises I carried out at home."
Jul 11, 2019
From Google
"Groschan & Associates have been a great help to me various times the past 5 years in dealing with a recurring back problem (osteoarthritis), and most recently with a glenoid shoulder fracture due to a fall. Treatment has been by Jim Groschan and Cindy Hoerl, both of whom are very knowledgeable, personable, and provided excellent one-on-one care to get me back to 100%. Previously, I had been to other physical therapists which treated me in a "sweat shop" type of manner, passing me from one person to another, and one exercise machine to another. Jim and Cindy both took a personal interest in treating me, providing sound advice on stretching and exercises to do that were beneficial in rehabilitating me in a safe but expedient manner. They are the best and are my go to physical therapists! "
Jun 13, 2019
"Groschan & Associates have been a great help to me various times the past 5 years in dealing with a recurring back problem (osteoarthritis), and most recently with a glenoid shoulder fracture due to a fall. Treatment has been by Jim Groschan and Cindy Hoerl, both of whom are very knowledgeable, personable, and provided excellent one-on-one care to get me back to 100%. Previously, I had been to other physical therapists which treated me in a "sweat shop" type of manner, passing me from one person to another, and one exercise machine to another. Jim and Cindy both took a personal interest in treating me, providing sound advice on stretching and exercises to do that were beneficial in rehabilitating me in a safe but expedient manner. They are the best and are my go to physical therapists!"
Jun 13, 2019
From Google
"It was unfortunate I experienced multiple orthopedic surgeries in 5 years. It was a blessing I found your PT practice early in my journey. My initial exposure to therapy and recovery techniques was materially slowed by utilizing the "big machine" approach of the large hospitals. The boilerplate "one size fits all" approach they typically employ was clearly not improving my situation. Once I experienced the personalized, focused and attention to detail philosophy of Groschan and Associates my recovery succeeded more quickly and with greater knowledge than I could have hoped for. Groschan and Associates is out of network so there has been more out of pocket expense. But, the value of experience and hands on time far outweighs the cost. Groschan & Associates has a very deep bench of talented therapists, superb and flexible customer service, great location and easy parking. I strongly recommend your practice to every patient looking for knowledge and relief." "
Jun 12, 2019
"It was unfortunate I experienced multiple orthopedic surgeries in 5 years. It was a blessing I found your PT practice early in my journey. My initial exposure to therapy and recovery techniques was materially slowed by utilizing the "big machine" approach of the large hospitals. The boilerplate "one size fits all" approach they typically employ was clearly not improving my situation. Once I experienced the personalized, focused and attention to detail philosophy of Groschan and Associates my recovery succeeded more quickly and with greater knowledge than I could have hoped for. Groschan and Associates is out of network so there has been more out of pocket expense. But, the value of experience and hands on time far outweighs the cost. Groschan & Associates has a very deep bench of talented therapists, superb and flexible customer service, great location and easy parking. I strongly recommend your practice to every patient looking for knowledge and relief."
Jun 12, 2019
From Google
"Five star treatment and responsiveness from a caring and talented staff. Found them after the mega medical PT next door (JHU) that I had used in the past couldn’t get me in for weeks. Groschan is a much more relaxed and personal experience with therapists that care enough to actually follow up after imaging appointments or outside doctor visits to get updates. Do yourself a huge favor if you’re in need of PT, you won’t find a better practice."
Jun 06, 2019
From Google
"Thank you all so much for making me feel welcome every time I came in for my therapy sessions. I am so grateful for your kindness as it helped me make my visits to your office even more pleasant while your efficiency with scheduling and addressing any questions made my visits free of stress. I was so lucky to have found such a caring and devoted team to help me during my healing process. All my Best, Vera K"
May 25, 2019
"I came to Groschan and Associates in 2017 because of pain in my right knee. I was having trouble walking and going up steps and was unable to work in my garden. I also was planning an overseas trip in 2 months. I had seen the doctor who did an MRI which showed I have arthritis in my knee. He said that I may need to have surgery but he would like me to try PT first. I began PT with Jim Groschan and it made a significant difference. He showed me how to use my body properly to put less stress on my knee. He taught me exercises to improve my strength and showed me how to sit, stand and walk properly. He did this in a way that put me in control of how I feel. I was able to go on my trip without limitations and I was able to go back to my garden. I have had a recent flare up and but I am back on the mend with a few treatments and a refresher on my exercises. I know that I may need surgery in the future but my work at Groschan and Associates has helped me preserve my knee and live my life actively. E H"
Apr 27, 2019
From Google
" I came to Groschan and Associates in 2017 because of pain in my right knee. I was having trouble walking and going up steps and was unable to work in my garden. I also was planning an overseas trip in 2 months. I had seen the doctor who did an MRI which showed I have arthritis in my knee. He said that I may need to have surgery but he would like me to try PT first. I began PT with Jim Groschan and it made a significant difference. He showed me how to use my body properly to put less stress on my knee. He taught me exercises to improve my strength and showed me how to sit, stand and walk properly. He did this in a way that put me in control of how I feel. I was able to go on my trip without limitations and I was able to go back to my garden. I have had a recent flare up and but I am back on the mend with a few treatments and a refresher on my exercises. I know that I may need surgery in the future but my work at Groschan and Associates has helped me preserve my knee and live my life actively. E H "
Apr 26, 2019
"Cindy was wonderful and I was very lucky to have her help me with my knee replacement. She has had great past experience to call on and she very encouraging while also making you do what is necessary. I will be recommending her to all my friends who are in need of PT. Cindy is the best that you could have. Barbara Antonides"
Apr 11, 2019
"My recovery from total shoulder replacement surgery has been rapid and successful, in no small part due to the excellent treatment I received from Melissa Blank, PT at Groschan and Associates. Melissa not only treated my shoulder, but also took time to understand me as a person. Together we pursued the common goals of reducing pain, gaining mobility, and returning to everyday life including golf. Melissa is very knowledgeable, has a great manner, and cares about her patients. I could not have chosen a better physical therapist. My experience at Groschan was also enhanced by the excellent office staff, and the timeliness of the overall operation. I would definitely recommend Melissa and Groschan Associates to anyone in need of physical therapy."
Apr 10, 2019
"I had a pinched nerve in my neck which caused pain in my left shoulder and a constant tingling down my entire left arm and hand. My Doctor recommended Groschan and Associates and I am glad he did. I was under the care of Dr. Sarah Blanchard . She was fantastic. I felt immediate results, and after about 7 weeks of therapy, I am now pain free. I thank Sarah for getting me through this with her expert guidance . Also, I thank her for making the sessions go by easily with enjoyable conversation. The young ladies at the front desk were wonderful as well. I highly recommend Groschan and Associates."
Apr 10, 2019
"Great service, great atmosphere, always efficient with our time together!"
Apr 10, 2019
"Jim Groschan is a highly professional, knowledgeable, and caring therapist. He provides a personalized approach to treatment and works with each patient during their entire session.The staff is courteous and very responsive to my needs. Appointments are easy to make, and I always feel better when I finish a visit. I would highly recommend his practice to my family and friends."
Apr 05, 2019
"I'm 67 years old. Forty-four years ago, I went skiing with rental skis and when I fell on an icy hill, my right ski failed to come off. I suffered a compound fracture with my tibia and fibula both breaking just above my ankle. After 2 surgeries, I was in a cast for 6 months and on crutches for 9 months. The doctor told me I would never run again and always walk with a limp. I decided to go to a foot specialist and see if I could do anything to retain motion and flexibility. He strongly suggested I go to Groschan & Associates to have therapy done. He highly recommended therapist Melissa Blank, who spent two months working on my foot, helping me learn new exercises to increase flexibility. She was incredibly patient and encouraging, explaining how the exercises would bring back abilities I was afraid I had lost. After waiting 44 years, I thought it was too late. But Melissa was able to wake up the muscles and exercise them, allowing my leg muscles to respond in a positive fashion.. I feel incredibly lucky that I was able to have someone so devoted, knowledgeable, and determined work on my ankle. Thanks to Melissa's skill, I almost feel like I have a whole new leg. She is an incredible therapist, I am lucky that she was able to bring back abilities I feared I had lost. "
Apr 04, 2019
"Because of their satisfying experiences at Groschan PT, several friends referred me there for treatment of shoulder and knee fractures incurred in a serious fall. Thanks to the professional expertise and TLC of my therapists, Sarah Blanchard and Emily Groschan, I made amazing progress after only 6 weeks, e.g. I have nearly normal range of arm motion; my orthopedist called it "fantastic"! If you're seeking the best, Groschan on all counts is the BEST!!"
Mar 25, 2019
From Google
"First PT experience. Have seen 3 of the therapists , and all were professional, knowledgable, and eager to see improvement for my situation. All were willing to listen to me, and each other to come up with the best plan for the best result possible."
Mar 21, 2019
From Google
"I have been a patient of Groschan & Associates off & on for several years. Ankle, tear in Achilles, pinched nerve in neck & after knee replacement! I have seen all the Groschan’s & they are the best! All three are patient, professional, helpful & have a lovely sense of humor(which is always the best medicine). Plus they have a great support staff. Convenient location- easy to park - nice size office - you are not in a maze. What can I say GROSCHAN & ASOCIATES is the best‼️ I highly recommend them. Cheers Nora May"
Mar 21, 2019
From Google
"When my doctor recommended physical therapy for my back pain I sought help at Groschan and Assoc. Cindy Hoerl was my PT. She was very professional and caring during each session.The combination of her manual techniques and the home exercise program she prescribed were the key to my recovery. I was also impressed with the efficiency and knowledge of the front desk staff with regards to my insurance and scheduling appointments. I do recommend them to anyone."
Mar 19, 2019
From Google
"I had a lot of pain in my knee and was diagnosed with an IT band issue. I was sent to PT. I called Groschan & Associates and was able to be seen within a day. I have had no problems scheduling appointments to fit my needs. I have had the wonderful experience of working with Sarah Blanchard, who is very knowledgeable and has treated me as a friend. I have had great results and would highly recommend this group."
Mar 19, 2019
From Google
"I have been going to Groschan and Associates for more than 20 years. I go to the superb therapist Cindy Hoerl and I am so grateful for her excellent care. She is extremely well informed about Physiology and the necessary therapy needed for any problem. She is very serious and intelligent as well as kind and compassionate always going that extra mile to help her patients. I would recommend her without any reservations."
Mar 18, 2019
From Google
"Lately, I had begun experiencing difficulty while walking. I would start out fine but the further I walked the more bent over I would become and my back would start hurting. Because of my age (88) I didn't think anything could be done. My primary care doctor recommended I make an appointment with Groschan & Associates. My therapist, Melissa Blank, has been terrific. The exercises she has given me have done wonders. I am able to walk much further than I could before and stand so much straighter. Even others have noticed. I would like to thank Melissa for her kindness and patience and for all the help she has given me. "
Jan 02, 2019
"Very Professional . Cindy Hoerl is someone who deeply cares about the health and well being of her patients,"
Oct 29, 2018
From Google
"I first came to JIm many years ago after being recommended to him by Dr. Segalman my surgeon. He very highly recommended Jim. After rotator cuff surgery I was told by all that if things worked well I would get back about 85% of my arm usage. Thanks to Jim I am at 100%. His hard work with me and encouragement made the difference. A year ago I was diagnosed with another rotator cuff needing surgery. I ask Dr. Segalman, "how about therapy ?". He said why not try. If can't hurt. The result - After working with JIm again, I don't even know that I have a rotator cuff problem. No pain what so ever. Of course I don't do "radical" movements. However, I am 100% fine. Another "Jim job greatly done".Now recently I developed pains in another shoulder and went to Jim as usual. Results - pain is gone.I fell on my left knee and was in severe pain until I went to see my friend Jim. Here I am now back to myself.To sum it all up. Jim is the greatest. If you have a problem he is the man to see. He does things other therapists can't come close to. Above all, he is a wonderful person. Very professional, caring, encouraging, kind, and patient. We have become friends over the years and I always look forward to the sessions as I really enjoy seeing "my friend" Jim. A great "professional" and a wonderful person in general. By the way his daughter Sara who subs for him with me when his schedule doesn't work out is a true credit to her father. Very nice, caring, and above all really "knows her stuff". To sum it all up you can't go wrong with Groschan & Assoc. You will lose out if you have needs and don't use them. They are "the best". Best of all, wonderful high class human beings. I can't recommend them high enough. Go see them. You will be glad you did. Yitz"
Oct 24, 2018
"They have great in helping me rehab after tearing my ACL. Truly are the best in the business!"
Oct 24, 2018
From Google
"I had back surgery in February 2018, my recovery was slow, but when I came to Groschan and Associated i was welcomed and made to feel like I had been a long time patient. Melissa Blank was my physical therapist, what a wonderful person and an outstanding therapist. She was understanding, patient and extremely professional. She gave exercises that were easy and effective. Ultimately my back and hip problems were solved and today I feeling sooooo much better I did a few months ago. I would highly recommend Groschan & Associates to my friends, they are a terrific organization. I want to especially commend Melissa Blank for getting me back on track, now I can play golf again, walk our dog without pain and do daily activities without apprehension. Thank you Melissa and Groschan!!!!!!! "
Oct 19, 2018
"I have been a competitive golfer my entire adult life but over the past 14 months, I had been very limited by pain. After working with Jim Groschan, I really improved. He taught me how to control my posture with golf. The focus on exercise and posture principles made a huge difference and gave me much more control over my pain. So I entered The Baltimore Senior Match Play Championship and I won! This is a USGA sanctioned tournament. It's actually my first real tournament since my injury. It feels pretty good considering I could not swing a club at all last year. "
Oct 17, 2018
"My wife and I have both been to Groschan and Associates in the past several years and have been very pleased with the results. I have had bursitis in my left shoulder on two occasions - very painful to sleep at night in particular. Jim worked with me for six weeks or so and completely resolved the problem - I can sleep again. His in office treatment plan was excellent and he provided me with good in-home exercises to strengthen my shoulder. My wife had hip bursitis and saw Cindy for a number weeks with the problem being completely resolved. Cindy and Jim not only are excellent therapists but also have extremely pleasant and friendly personalities that make the process really easy."
Oct 17, 2018
"I have been going to Jim Groschan for over 2 years and he has changed my life. The problems that I had he solved for me. He gave and taught me new ways to alleviate my pain by very simple exercises and very simple tools. I have learned some many different way to improve my issue. I have also recommended Jim and his other physical therapists to friends with issues to go to his office. I truly am one of the lucky ones that was recommended to come here. I no longer need his services but if any problem returns I will certainly come back for help."
Oct 17, 2018
"My wife and I have both been to Groshan and Associates in the past several years and have been very pleased with the results. I have had bursitis in my left shoulder on two occasions - very painful to sleep at night in particular. Jim worked with me for six weeks or so and completely resolved the problem - I can sleep again. His in office treatment plan was excellent and he provided me with good in-home exercises to strengthen my shoulder. My wife had hip bursitis and saw Cindy for a number weeks with the problem being completely resolved. Cindy and Jim not only are excellent therapists but also have extremely pleasant and friendly personalities that make the process really easy."
Oct 16, 2018
"Sarah is the absolute best! I had extreme pain in my lower back that I wouldn't wish on my worst enemy, I couldn't even sit - standing was the only relief I had until I met Sarah. After my first visit, I knew I had gone to the right physical therapy office. She is kind, caring, personal and most of all, a fabulous therapist! I am 100% pain free in less than a month. I hope I never have that much pain again, but if I do.... I'll be calling Sarah :)"
Oct 12, 2018
From Google
"I've been going to Jim and his team for my physical therapy needs for years now: ACL surgery, back pain, foot surgery. Where other therapists focus on just the body part that's in trouble, Jim develops a whole-body solution to bring your body back to functioning normally. The exercises and drills he uses are designed around sound bio-mechanics and natural movements, not artificially contrived exercises on machines. I'm very happy with the results of our work together."
Sep 23, 2018
From Google
Aug 28, 2018
From Google
"After Rotator Cuff Surgery I was referred to Groschan & Associated where I met Melissa. Both my surgeon and PT told me full recovery would take about 8 months. With the help of Melissa I cut that time period in half. In just 4 months I am back playing tennis as good as ever (maybe even better). The secret to success is doing exactly what you are instructed, not more, not less. Ron M"
Aug 27, 2018
"When I had a compression fracture in my back, my doctor recommended Groschan & Associates. I was assigned to Emily. I did what she told me to do and I got a LOT better. A whole lot better. I'm 75 so I'm not sure what can be reasonably expected, but I'm extremely grateful for Emily's conscientious, sympathetic encouragement. She gave me a lot to think about in terms of recovery. I'm very, very pleased about the time I spent with her. "
Aug 08, 2018
"I recently experienced pain in my lower back that just wouldn't resolve itself. My doctor recommended physical therapy so I thought that I would give Groschan & Associates a try. Never having had physical therapy before, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. The staff at Groschan is friendly, welcoming, and professional. Emily Groschan, my physical therapist, is truly amazing. She has a wide-ranging knowledge of techniques and therapies and was able to bring my back problem to a successful resolution in seven sessions. Besides working one on one with me during my appointments, Emily also provided me with an exercise regimen designed to improve flexibility, strength, and posture. You may think me crazy but I found myself looking forward to my PT appointments with Emily because I knew that I would emerge afterward feeling better than when I went in. One of the qualities that sets Groschan & Associates apart is that they take the time to listen to what you have to say and then provide an individual evaluation and therapy plan. They even examine things that most people would take for granted such as posture and gait. If you should find yourself in need of physical therapy, I would highly recommend that you consult with the staff at Groschan & Associates."
Aug 06, 2018
From Google
"I have experienced 3 separate injuries over the last few years, each time I visit Groschan and Associates the staff are friendly and welcoming. This organization is run very well. I never wait for my appointment and the physical therapist is always right on time. Each time Jim Groschan has worked with me, he has been able to quickly diagnose the area of my pain. Jim has an amazing ability to teach his patients how to improve posture, exercise properly, and demonstrate strengthening exercises which each time resolve the pain. Plus, Jim has a great personality and makes it all seem fun!! "
Aug 02, 2018
"Over the years, I have been a patient of Jim Groschan for various orthopedic problems. About ten years ago, I had a frozen shoulder, which was extremely painful. After working with Jim and his associates, the pain went away and I was able to regain full motion of my arm. Four years ago, I broke my shoulder and was unable to move my arm after being in a sling for a month. Once again, I regained full motion of my arm after working with Jim. I know several people who have broken their shoulders and not one of them has the range of motion that I have. Most recently, I sprained my ankle. Again, I went to Jim and he was able to eliminate the pain. Not only is Jim an excellent practitioner, he is also caring, friendly, and punctual. Most importantly, he patiently teaches his patients what they need to do to correct the problem. He leads by example. As a result, his staff treats the patients in the same courteous and caring manner that Jim models. I have and will continue to highly recommend Jim and his practice to my friends and family. Ann S. "
Jul 16, 2018
"In the last 20 years I have had the benefits of working with Jim and his team with recovery from mutiple spine surguries. Most recently I needed theraphy and guidance to rehab some knee problems. My experience was again terrific! Although I have been a patient at several other respected PT firms in Maryland and Florida I can state without reservation that the Groschan team is absolutely the top of the list."
May 27, 2018
May 27, 2018
From Google
"They have given the best experience that I have had with any physical therapy before! Emily is great!!"
May 10, 2018
From Google
"I have only wonderful things to say about Emily Groschan and her care. I was suffering from a chronic lower back issue and was hoping for some relief after many years. Emily used various methods and treatments to bring me to a very high level of pain free living. She is extremely knowledgeable in all aspects of physical therapy and anatomy. I did not think that I would have ever been able to return to a regular life at work or play, but, the Groschan group has made that possible. I highly recommended Emily Groschan."
Apr 19, 2018
From Google
"Jim Groschan is an amazing physical therapist!!! I first came to Groschan & Associates after injuring my shoulder bouldering at the climbing gym. At the time, I could barely rotate my shoulder - after working with Jim Groschan and following his guidance, I made a 100% recovery and was out surfing the following summer! I highly recommend!!!"
Apr 18, 2018
From Google
"My primary care doctor sent me to Jim when I had a disk problem, that had me in a lot of pain and very worried about what would be needed to resolve the issue. Dr. Gordon said Jim was absolutely "the best" and I believe her. His assessment of my issue was very thorough, and I was impressed with his vast knowledge and attention to detail. Jim cured the issue and educated me about what had caused it, and what I could do to help prevent another incident. I am back to working out as often as I can and completely pain free. It is also comforting to know that if anything like that ever happens again, I know exactly where to go!"
Apr 16, 2018
"I had physical therapy for 3 month for a very serious right ankle fracture. I had a wonderful experience with Jim Groschan. Under his guidance my ankle healed well and my function is almost back to normal . The expertise In the office is outstanding and all the staff and associates are friendly and very professional."
Mar 01, 2018
From Google
"Jim Groschan is an excellent physical therapist and a truly caring, genuine practitioner. I came in with a right shoulder problem and after following through with his directives and my appointments I was able to regain the function of my right shoulder. I am very grateful and would highly recommend his practice to my family and friends. Thanks again for your wonderful care."
Feb 04, 2018
"The big difference is that Jim teaches you how the body mechanics affect the pain. Once you learn how the body works, it becomes obvious what you are doing wrong, and how to correct it. Simple right? When I came in I could not walk up stairs, now I can run up them. Thanks Jim."
Nov 14, 2017
From Google
"Groschan and Associates were able to fit me in as a new patient the day I called. Lots of personal attention by the therapist during my first visit."
Oct 20, 2017
From Google
"Groschan & Associates has caring, professional staff. And as a patient there, you stay with the same Physical Therapist during all of your sessions- no switching to another staff person. I recommend asking for Cindy. She is great!"
Oct 11, 2017
"I feel very lucky to have had Jim Groschan as my physical therapist for my various injuries and ailments for more than 30 years. I always know I will feel better when I leave his office than when I arrived and that he will manage to get the problem under control. And so this is why I continue with Jim --- despite the fact that my insurance does not cover his services."
Sep 27, 2017
"Jim was perfect for me. I was looking for a multi-year slow fix to my persistent back problems, not a one week miracle or wonder shot. Jim explained to me how my muscles and skeleton work together. He pointed out the destructive habits I’ve formed over 30 years and taught me better ways to stand, sit, and walk. I am nearly four months removed from my first session and am confident I am on a good trajectory for the coming years. My 7 sessions were well-worth the price and I will continue to work visits into my preventative health routine. Thanks Jim and team."
Jun 30, 2017
From Google
"My recovery from a total hip replacement has been stellar, due in large part to working with the therapists at Groschan PT. The "homework" has triggered muscular connections that made progress swift. I am very grateful to Jim for his clear, simple instruction."
Jun 29, 2017
"Jim Groschan's personal attention to his clients is fantastic. He is knowledgeable and gets to the root cause of the issue to help you prevent future injury."
Jun 12, 2017
"I was lucky when I broke my clavicle. I was lucky because my wife had been to see Jim Groschan for issues with her knee. When the orthopedist prescribed physical therapy, my wife pointed me in the right direction. I was concerned about restoring a range of motion but, importantly, I didn't want my golf game to suffer too much. Jim fully understood both issues and addressed them in a thorough and professional manner. It is now 4 months since the injury. I'm happy to say that that the range of motion in my shoulder is almost fully restored and I can play golf without pain. if anything, I've picked up a couple of yards with my driver."
May 04, 2017
"I was fortunate, my wife had been to Jim because of a hip replacement and said I had to see him. I saw Jim both prior to and following bilateral knee replacement at age 70. Jim’s more than my PT guy, he is my advocate and coach. We worked on exercises that strengthen my knees prior to the surgery so that I would be in better condition for PT following the surgery, about 5 weeks of prep. Following surgery, we focused on doing things right/correctly/proper form; relearning how to walk properly, doing steps up and down correctly, as well as getting up from a sitting position, many new routines were provided for at home practice, as well as, continuing my strength training. I am told that I may be one of the exceptions as I was walking without a cane once I went home, 6 days after surgery; I am able to go up and down steps confidently; riding a stationary bike for 20 minutes or so at a time, as well as, walking 3 miles daily, weather permitting, as it is winter time and I hate cold weather. I am almost 2 months out of surgery and continuing to improve daily; not leaps and bounds, but small, noticeable, incremental improvement. On Friday I had my 2 month checkup with my surgeon, Dr. Brian Mulliken, he said I was 4 to 6 weeks ahead of schedule on my recovery. I highly recommend Jim Groschan and Associates; everyone there are the best!"
Jan 11, 2017
From Google
"I was fortunate, my wife had been to Jim because of a hip replacement and said I had to see him. I saw Jim both prior to and following bilateral knee replacement at age 70. Jim’s more than my PT guy, he is my advocate and coach. We worked on exercises that strengthen my knees prior to the surgery so that I would be in better condition for PT following the surgery, about 5 weeks of prep. Following surgery, we focused on doing things right/correctly/proper form; relearning how to walk properly, doing steps up and down correctly, as well as getting up from a sitting position, many new routines were provided for at home practice, as well as, continuing my strength training. I am told that I may be one of the exceptions as I was walking without a cane within 2 weeks of surgery; I am able to go up and down steps confidently; riding a stationary bike for 20 minutes or so at a time, as well as, walking 3 miles daily, weather permitting, as it is winter time. I am almost 7 weeks out of surgery and continuing to improve daily; not leaps and bounds, but small, noticeable, incremental improvement. I highly recommend Jim Groschan and Associates; everyone there are the best!"
Jan 04, 2017
"Groschan & Associates are very professional.You see it when you walk into their office. Their approach to fixing your problem is thorough. Jim Goschan's approach to work on your posture even when you don't realize that could be part of your problem is most effective. When you need to schedule with another associate you do not miss a beat. I have been away for two months but following the stretches, I was given with good results."
Nov 14, 2016
"WHY WOULD I DRIVE 60 MILES FROM HARRISBURG PA FOR BACK PAIN? Besides being very professional and experienced Groschan & Associates approaches PT differently. I had previously used a large PT firm in York PA but they did the typical stuff with weights on pulleys and other equipment which I had to go there or a gym to do. INSTEAD, Groschan focuses on posture and the correct ways to do everyday activities of daily living since these are the things we do many, many times daily. This is what I call the Groschan difference. And doing these everyday activities incorrectly are what gets your body in trouble. JUST ONE EXAMPLE. It is so important to properly get out of a chair. You are thinking huh how can that be? That’s what I thought too but how wrong I was. Remember this is something you do many times a day so it is important to do it properly. And I can virtually guarantee you that no one gets out of a chair properly without this training. This one technique will save so much wear and tear on your back/body over the years and these good habits will become second nature and will serve you well now and as your body ages. You will be so glad you learned all of the Groschan valued tools. They give you exercises to support your posture and everyday activities. None of the exercises I was given involved any equipment. They all can be done at home which makes it so easy. And they can also manually adjust your body if it is out of alignment but nothing like a chiropractor. No cracking or crunching of bones. It is all gentle movements. Their ULTIMATE GOAL is to give you these life tools so that once you learn all of their techniques & exercises you should never have to see them again! And that saves you money and valuable time! Do yourself a big favor and contact Groschan & Associates."
Oct 28, 2016
From Google
"I have been treated (and taught to do exercises) for two major joint problems, both of which are now completely resolved. In fact, I was amazed the other day to realize that I no longer remember which knee has the partially torn meniscus. Groschan physical therapists are genuinely concerned about patient outcomes and very engaged. Plus, they are very, very precise about how exercises and stretches are done, leading to better results. And yes, as others have said, the office staff could not be more helpful or smart about the way they handle appointments, insurance, etc. I have sent several friends to Groschan & Assoc., and they have all thanked me for it."
Sep 01, 2016
"My therapist, Melissa Blank, is great! She is extremely capable and experienced. As a result of her therapy, and the important exercises she trained me to perform, I am a new man. The pain is gone, the stiffness has disappeared, and I can stand erect and walk with ease."
May 31, 2016
"I have been a patient of Dr. Groschan for many years. His professionalism and expertise in the field is something that I admire and as a result, I will not go anywhere else. His staff is also very friendly and extremely helpful. I also love the fact that every patient is treated in their own private room. Whenever I have an issue and cannot play golf, I see Dr. Groschan and in 3-4 visits, I feel much better and I'm back to the golf course. I would strongly recommend Dr. Groschan. He is an excellent physical therapist and a very empathetic individual."
Apr 30, 2016
"It's been a while since I was a patient, but it was always a pleasant environment, I enjoyed using your services. Thank you."
Apr 24, 2016
"Jim and his team never fail to improve my physical capacity, whether it's knee, shoulder, back or Achilles related. Unfortunately, I have had a fair number of injuries over the years and it is comforting to know I have a team I can depend on when I need them. I get a full session of hands-on treatment from a PT as opposed to a few minutes with a PT or PTA and then supervised exercises."
Apr 10, 2016
"Through many years I have worked with Groschan and associates for various issues. They have each time been understanding, patient, and helpful with each problem, and helped me to a great outcome. Jim, originally was my primary PT in my early visits. But, when our schedules didn't allow our working together, each and every PT that I had thought the years have always been extremely qualified and helpful me to recovery, and might I add I have been a patient of Groschan for 15 years at least for varying chronic issues. And they always get me thru to feeling well. What for me has stood out also is their attention to producing a clean, orderly, friendly environment. Recommend my clients, friends, and gladly, a lot of them already have availed themselves of their services with the same happy outcome."
Mar 20, 2016
"Through the last 15 years I have been to Jim Groschan and his associate Therapists. Having had various issues both chronic and recuperative, they have always brought me back to a healthy place. Jim and each therapist are highly motivated to see you reach a place in healing and strength of motion. What has also stood out for me is the environment, that is always friendly, clean, organized from the receptionist desk through the entire practice. Their knowledge of the mechanics of the anatomy and their commitment to teach you how to best reach you goals and be well again is what I feel make Groschan and associates the best practice around."
Mar 20, 2016
From Google
"I have been to 3 different physical therapy places for various back problems over the years. Groschan & Associates was by far the best. From the friendly receptionist, the ease of making an appointment to the wonderful physical therapist, Cindy Hoerl, my experience was a positive one. Cindy took the time to listen to my problem and tailored a program to fit my health needs as well as my personal schedule. They give you the one on one time you need, that many places skip because of insurance requirements. They were wonderful, highly recommend them!"
Mar 18, 2016
"Great caring, knowledgeable people. always on time."
Mar 16, 2016
"What a wonderful group of professionals!!! I would not be doing as well as I am without their therapies. I have recommended them to several friends and they too had an extraordinary experience. They showed patience and made me feel that I could come back...and I did! Thanks to all!"
Mar 16, 2016
"I've been to Groshan and Associates for various issues and found them to be very professional and competent. I see Cindy at present and she is beyond fabulous...would recommend her to everyone....as well as Melissa who I have used in the past. Groschan and Associates is the place to go for physical therapy!!!!"
Mar 16, 2016
"GREAT ! Performed miracles...when I didn't think anyone could! Thanks to all!!!"
Mar 16, 2016
"Jim is fantastic!He is able to assess the cause of your pain and develop treatment to address it.He gives you exercises to do at home to help keep the condition from returning."
Mar 15, 2016
"Twenty-five years ago I fell dancing and broke my hip. I was told by a physical therapist friend "you must go to the very best", and I did. I went to Jim Groschan and I walked again with no limp. Jim and his staff are more than outstanding. Each and every day you are greeted with a warm smile and a great understanding of your problem. Over the years I have had the need for additional therapy for other matters. Each time Jim's expertise has restored me back to strength. I highly recommend Jim Groschan and his Associates as a top quality physical therapy team. The absolute best."
Mar 15, 2016
"Groschan & Associates actually deserves 10 stars, not 5! I could not possibly recommend it more strongly. Over the last two years, I've had a number of injuries and conditions necessitating PT. Several good friends told me about Groschan. It is one of a kind. Every therapist there is completely competent, personable, encouraging, and top-notch. Unlike so many other PT centers, Groschan & Associates therapists give one-on-one treatment the entire time, meaning no wasted time waiting for someone to come to you. I've been treated for low spine issues, damaged hamstring, rotator cuff injury, and now a degenerating knee. I have complete confidence in the care I am receiving each week."
Mar 14, 2016
"Everything about participating in Groshan & Associates Physical Therapy was a positive experience. When I first started I was in a lot of pain and Jim gave me lots of ways to ease that pain on day one. After that, the sessions were filled with comforting treatments and helpful exercises, most of which I still do. Most important was what Jim taught me about my body, the importance of my posture, and how I can make decisions to keep myself physically strong and healthy. It was easy to make appointments, and I was taken on time. My shoulder is better than new, and I have this group to thank for that. I recommended a lot of my friends who have had similar experiences. I know where I will go next time I need the best physical therapy!"
Mar 13, 2016
"Groschan & Associates was recommended to me by a former patient. Unlike other facilities I have seen which look like health clubs, Groschan has individual treatment rooms. The therapist that treated me was terrific and, in addition to the therapy, she provided me with an amazing amount of information related to my situation. I am having hip replacement surgery later this month (03/2016) and will be going back to Groschan and Associates for my post-op therapy. In addition to my therapist, everyone who works there was pleasant to deal with."
Mar 13, 2016
"Emily has been responsive to every ache or pain I express. I look forward to each session and know that she will provide the exercises etc that I need that day. She explains the exercises well and seems to think of endless ways to treat my knee and my ankle! We have nice chats and she is more like a friend than a therapist while at the same time being VERY professional."
Mar 12, 2016
"I went to this practice for a neck injury. I was fortunate to see Michelle, who was amazing! Thanks for all of your thoughtful and expert care!"
Mar 10, 2016
"You all are just the best! Starting with great location, easy parking, lovely & friendly staff (who are very patient with me) AND last but far from least is my spectacular PT EMILY - she makes all my sessions fun & different. Plus very professional . . . Just the best."
Mar 10, 2016
"Jim is a great guy and really helped my back pain. In addition, I referred my dad and Jim is working with him to improve his back and knee pain."
Mar 10, 2016
"My husband and I both adore Melisa Blank. She is wonderful. She has us up and feeling great."
Mar 10, 2016
"Excellent and thorough as usual!!!"
Mar 03, 2016
"5 years ago I had an excellent experience rehabbing muscles after a hip replacement with Jim Groschan as my PT. Now I have an Rx for PT due to back muscle issues. When my spine doc recommended two sites for PT near my home, I passed on the suggestions. It is worth the 20-mile drive for me to learn from Jim Groschan about the structural reasons causing my muscle issues, to be listened to and treated as an intelligent patient, and to have practical exercises that are not just healing but strengthening my back muscles. The office staff is flexible and they cheerfully find appointment's that fit my schedule. When I finish I will not only be healed but will be educated to keep my muscles strong."
Jan 28, 2016
"Robert Dubansky I have just completed several weeks of therapy at Groschan and Associates. I was sure I was headed toward cervical disk surgery before they intervened. Instead of having surgery, I am headed to the golf course! I appreciate the professionalism and the competence of this well-run office. They are on time, don't waste a moment, and provide direction and support for therapy and exercise at home to complement their work in the office. Time there isn't wasted on completing insurance papers or waiting around for equipment or therapy. A special shout-out to Melissa who was as determined and dedicated as I was to my rehabilitation. She helped me get through the injury physically AND mentally and showed a great deal of personal concern.---Robert Dubansky"
Jan 22, 2016
"I can't say enough good things about this organization, from start to finish. I have been going, unfortunately, for close to two decades many times over the years, due to a deteriorating spine and multiple surgeries. The main physical therapist, Jim Groschan is the ultimate professional always trying to make my self as independent as possible and pain-free. His staff is excellent from the minute you sign in. If you can trust somebody with your spine, you can trust him pretty much with your life. Highly recommend this organization."
Jan 20, 2016
From Google
©2021 Google LLC All rights reserved. Google and the Google logo are registered trademarks of Google LLC.

Testimonials

I was fortunate, my wife had been to Jim because of a hip replacement and said I had to see him. I saw Jim both prior to and following bilateral knee replacement at age 70. Jim’s more than my PT guy, he is my advocate and coach. We worked on exercises that strengthen my knees prior to the surgery so that I would be in better condition for PT following the surgery. After surgery, we focused on doing things right/correctly/proper form; relearning how to walk properly, doing steps up and down correctly, as well as getting up from a sitting position, many new routines were provided for at home practice, as well as, continuing my strength training. At my 2 month checkup with my surgeon he said I was 4 to 6 weeks ahead of schedule on my recovery. I highly recommend Jim Groschan and Associates; everyone there are the best!

– Roger L.

WHY WOULD I DRIVE 60 MILES FROM HARRISBURG PA FOR BACK PAIN? Besides being very professional and experienced Groschan & Associates approaches PT differently. I had previously used a large PT firm in York PA but they did the typical stuff with weights on pulleys and other equipment which I had to go there or a gym to do. INSTEAD, Groschan focuses on posture and the correct ways to do everyday activities of daily living since these are the things we do many, many times daily. This is what I call the Groschan difference. And doing these everyday activities incorrectly are what gets your body in trouble. JUST ONE EXAMPLE. It is so important to properly get out of a chair. You are thinking huh how can that be? That’s what I thought too but how wrong I was. Remember this is something you do many times a day so it is important to do it properly. And I can virtually guarantee you that no one gets out of a chair properly without this training. This one technique will save so much wear and tear on your back/body over the years and these good habits will become second nature and will serve you well now and as your body ages. You will be so glad you learned all of the Groschan valued tools. They give you exercises to support your posture and everyday activities. None of the exercises I was given involved any equipment. They all can be done at home which makes it so easy. And they can also manually adjust your body if it is out of alignment but nothing like a chiropractor. No cracking or crunching of bones. It is all gentle movements. Their ULTIMATE GOAL is to give you these life tools so that once you learn all of their techniques & exercises you should never have to see them again! And that saves you money and valuable time! Do yourself a big favor and contact Groschan & Associates.

– Sam B.

Thanks so much for your help in getting my leg back in running shape. Yesterday, I successfully completed the Frederick Half Marathon, made my time goal and had a great morning!

You helped both my leg and posture, and undoubtedly made me a stronger runner.

Thanks again,

– Sue G.

Kevin

Hello Groschan & Associates,

I thought I might send you an update on me as one of your former patients. From July 2005-February 2006 I was being treated there by Melissa Blank. I have been very thankful for the work Melissa did with me to get me back on my feet after my ACL reconstruction surgery.

Since you all cleared me to get back into my normal athletic activities, I have been able to play basketball, softball, baseball and football. And most recently, this past weekend I finished the Charlotte Thunder Road Marathon.

I know that none of this would have been possible without the work I had done there, so I just wanted to say Thank You once again. I have attached a picture of me finishing the race. I think my smile says it all.

Thank you again.

– Kevin


“Jim Groschan is the best in Physical Therapy. He has a deep working knowledge of the complexities associated with physical therapy and combined with years of practical patient experience; there is no one else who can compare. Jim has a sensible approach to therapy and an easy manner to comfort those in discomfort.

As a PGA Instructor, I also admire that he understands the specific mechanics associated with the golf swing and how he helps his students improve physically for better golf. By improving his client’s physical limitations, I have seen his patients play not only pain free, but better than ever. I should know, I’ve been a patient of his for years. Besides all of these wonderful qualities, it is a pleasure to be in his enthusiastic and helpful company.”

– Joe P.
PGA Director of Instruction at the Baltimore Country Club

“I was referred to Jim Groschan for Physical Therapy August 2008 after I dislocated my left hip. I had my hip replaced in March 2005. The dislocation occurred while taking a golf lesson, a sport I really enjoy.

Before meeting Jim I was very discouraged about my ability to recover as well as I had from my initial surgery. Having additional surgery or physical therapy were the options presented to me at the time of the accident. I chose physical therapy.

After the first meeting with Jim Groschan to discuss my situation, I left his office full of hope that I would be OK and possibly stronger than ever. With each session I grew more confident in my abilities to live life as before. Jim always gave me a ‘take away.’ His therapy made sense to me and I could put things together. My confidence soared, I am back playing golf, and can be easily accomplish all the activities of daily living that I want to or have to do.

I am very grateful to Jim and appreciate his theory and techniques that are broad and yet specifically designed for each patient to maximize their own abilities and achieve their specific goals.

I highly recommend Jim Groschan to anyone in need of Physical Therapy. He is a knowledgeable professional with a down to earth personality and approach. I am very grateful for what he has helped me accomplish.”

– Mary T.

“I came to Jim for physical therapy after I had back surgery. He did his best to help me but realized after some time had passed that his efforts were not enough. After listening to me and tracking my lack of progress he suspected that I had an instability in my spine and suggested that I may need a second surgery on my back. I followed his advise and sought the opinion of a different surgeon. I had a second back surgery and am so much better because of it. Instead of endlessly bringing me in for appointments to no avail he was honest, compassionate and used his expertise to guide me in getting the care I really needed. He continues to advise and care for me through my rehabilitation.

Jim is not only an outstanding physical therapist but he recognizes that pain can be mentally challenging and addresses that as well. He is kind, thoughtful and always willing to listen. I am very grateful and would highly recommend him to anyone seeking physical therapy.”

– Susan E.